Cup Series Taking Center Stage for 2020 AEA Premier Series

Published On: August 13th, 2019

2019-07-16 22-40-30_0

(CLEVELAND, OH) The American E-Sports Association announced today changes to the Premier Series schedule for 2020 including the focus on just one series, the Cup Series, featuring Chevy Camaros, Ford Mustangs and Toyota Camrys.  

2019-04-23 23-21-16_0

The 2020 schedule will feature 36 points paying races over 35 race weeks.  The season will kick off in February with Daytona Pole Qualifying and Daytona Duels on February 4th, with a 250 mile event at Daytona to officially kick off the championship season.  

2019-02-05 22-59-08_0

AEA Officials took a few liberties with the schedule, including replacing second dates at Dover International Speedway and Kansas Speedway with a special format event at Iowa Speedway and a Playoff event at Rockingham Speedway which will be featured as part of the Final Four Championship Series.  

2019-05-21 23-04-44_0

Charlotte Motor Speedway will host the longest race on the schedule with a 300 mile event scheduled for late May, the event will feature a day to night transition.  

2019-01-29 22-50-47_0

Pocono Raceway will host the Premier Series’ first “doubleheader”, the “Tricky Triangle Twins” featuring two points paying 75 mile races headlining the July 22nd event.  The lead lap finishers in the first event will be inverted for the start of the second race with full points paid for each event.  

2019-04-02 22-39-21_0

Iowa Speedway will host the “Summer Short Track Showdown” on July 29th, featuring heat races to set the starting grid.  The event will pay homage to the short track roots of ASRS and feature the long desired date at the ⅞ mile “field of dreams”. 

2018-12-05 21-44-50_0

Three road courses will host events in 2020; Sonoma Raceway in June, Watkins Glen International Raceway in August and the Charlotte Roval during the Playoffs in September.  

2019-07-16 22-34-58_0

The Playoffs will initially qualify twelve drivers with the first round featuring Darlington Raceway, Richmond Raceway and the inaugural event at the Charlotte Roval.   Eight drivers will advance to the Elite Eight which will feature races at Bristol Motor Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway.  

2019-03-12 23-17-04_0

The Final Four Championship Series will settle the championship amongst the top four drivers over the final four events.  Rockingham Speedway, Texas Motor Speedway, Martinsville Speedway and ISM Raceway (Phoenix) will be featured in the 2020 Final Four Championship.  

2019-02-05 22-50-44_0

The majority of races will be daytime races, which have provided the series with great racing in 2019, however a few tracks are scheduled to host night races.  Daytona, Las Vegas, ISM, Richmond, and Bristol will host both a day and a night race in 2020. Also, Kentucky, Iowa and Darlington will each host their one event of the year at night.  

2018-10-16 22-52-04_0

The Premier Cup Series will be officiated by dedicated race officials, with AEA President Jim Foose taking the role as Chief Race Director and longtime series sponsor and participant Sam Maxwell joining in the race control office.  


The Truck Series will move to Wednesday nights for 20 events in 2020 and will be joined by the Grand National Series as the “Development Series”.  Each series will race 20 events bi-weekly, opposite of one another. The Truck Series will feature an all oval schedule while the Grand National Series will feature four road courses.  

Sponsorship opportunities are available for the 2020 ASRS Premier Cup Series.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Related Posts

Related Posts

Upcoming Races

  • Rockingham 100


  • Five Flags 125


Current Standings

Tweedcast Digital Creations Truck Series Logo
Tweedcast Digital Creations Logo