Orencia Takes Dirt Late Model Opener

Published On: June 18th, 2018


(VOLUSIA, FL) Chris Orencia made the most of his ASRS debut as he stormed to victory from the 5th starting position on lap 19 of 30 to pass Josh Walker for the lead.  Orencia would hold the lead over the final 11 laps en route to his first ASRS victory. Walker would settled for second with Rhett Starnes third, Brad Dyer and Robert Schaeffer rounded out the top five.  Todd Laboube started the race from the pole position after the invert but faded to finish 17th.


Six cautions ate 17 of the 30 laps and made track position a premium throughout the race.  A couple issues with the event format, which was the first official ASRS event to utilize the new heat race format, were found during the consolation races and will be addressed prior to the next event.


In all 37 drivers were in attendance attempting to qualify for the 24 car main event.  Notable drivers who failed to transfer to the feature event include Steve Ritter, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Chad Finley, Jim Foose, Justin Kruithof and Tom Giannini.

Heat Winners: Brandon Krutz, Jared Mogard, Jeff Ward.  

perch’n Fast Time: Josh Walker


Next week the ASRS Dirt Late Model Tour heads to Limaland Motorsports Park for the Great Lakes Challenge 40 lap event.  


Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Related Posts

Related Posts

Upcoming Races

  • Richmond 125


  • Michigan 150


Current Standings

Tweedcast Digital Creations Truck Series Logo
Tweedcast Digital Creations Logo