Galvin Debuts in Victory Lane

Published On: September 15th, 2016


(IRWINDALE, CA) The 2016 ASRS Super Late Model Tour closed out it’s regular season Wednesday at Irwindale Speedway, after a dismal showing at Stafford last month, the drivers knew the Super Late Model Tour needed a shot in the arm.

With 39 drivers in the pits attempting to qualify for the 24 car starting grid, big names were sure to miss this one.  Drivers who failed to qualify were: Jeremy Bohne, Eric Spencer, Barry Zellmer, Donovan Johns, Zac Coyer, Danny Rodgers, Kris Titus, Scott Haller, John Kennedy, Todd Kirkwood, Steve Buhala, DJ Beverly, Jake Douglas, Mitch Brown and Jamie Vaughn.


Justin Fuller led the field to the green and was joined by Brandon Short on the front row.  Right off the bat, the race took a green flag feel to it as the first 39 laps were run without incident.  Cody Leland’s #75 brought out the first caution of the race, which saw the majority for the drivers pit for service.  The lone exception on the lead lap was AJ McCall, who led the field back to the green flag.


McCall led the field back to the green flag, but spun the tires on the restart setting up a mad dash to turn one that saw Brandon Short make it four wide before colliding with Fuller as they raced for the second position behind Jason Galvin.  The ensuing crash dashed many drivers’ hopes of winning at Irwindale.


Fuller spent the final 55 laps trying to overcome damage and the track position deficit that the crash put him in.  Meanwhile, at the front Galvin showed the way in his #11.  Three more cautions flew that slowed the pace and bunched up the field.


The final caution flew on lap 80 as Jordan Harnish was sent spinning in his #2 Toyota.  The restart came with just under 15 laps to go and Galvin again had to fend off his competition.  In the end Galvin picked up the win, with Travis Wright second, Fuller recovered to finish third, Ashton Crowder was fourth and Tom Giannini rounded out the top five.


The Final Four Race to the Championship kicks off next week at New Smyrna Speedway.  Eight drivers will duel it out for the championship.  Those eight drivers are: Matt Vaade, Jim Foose, Justin Blackdeer, TJ Graves, Rex Hoyle, Ernest Smith, Jr., AJ McCall and Collin Penn.


The Final Four Race to the Championship tracks are New Smyrna (Sept. 21), Southern National Motorsports Park (Oct. 5), Five Flags Speedway (Oct. 19) and Richmond International Raceway (Nov. 2)

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Related Posts

Related Posts

Upcoming Races

  • Mid Ohio Challenge


  • Lanier 125


Current Standings

Tweedcast Digital Creations Truck Series Logo
Tweedcast Digital Creations Logo