Baskins Slips By Crash to Win at Lucas Oil

Published On: July 13th, 2016


(CLERMONT, IN) The Camping World Truck Series races on a wide variety of race tracks from the superspeedways to the road courses and the intermediate tracks in between, but one type of track built the series into what it is today, the short tracks.  When ASRS started the Camping World Truck Series in 2005, the 25 race schedule featured 8 short tracks, nowadays that number is down to five.  So when the Camping World Truck Series hits the short tracks, it’s a special treat for drivers.


Ty Hester won the pole and was joined by Jim Foose on the front row for the green flag.  Hester took the lead from the get-go, but came down pit road on lap 16 handing the lead to Foose.  Foose would lead the way until lap 62 when Foose pitted.  Stewart would maintain the lead for just six laps before Foose’s #42 passed and began to distance himself from the field, leading by 2 seconds at one point before a caution flew on lap 77 for Stewart.


Foose continued to lead but was battling with Hester late in the going when Hester made contact with Foose’s #42 sending the #42 spinning out of the lead and collecting Jason Stewart.  Robby Baskins took the lead as a result of the incident.


Baskins would lead the final 12 laps en route to his fourth Camping World Truck Series win of 2016.  Eric Barile was second, Justin Vaughn third, Stewart was fourth while Todd Kirkwood finished fifth.


Baskins extended his points lead over Foose to 40 points as the Camping World Truck Series takes a week break before returning to action at Pocono Raceway July 26th.


Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Related Posts

Related Posts

Upcoming Races

  • Nashville 125


  • Spring Championship 125


Current Standings

Tweedcast Digital Creations Truck Series Logo
Tweedcast Digital Creations Logo