Mogard Wins Dover Slugfest

Published On: May 11th, 2016


(DOVER, DE) 35 drivers showed up at Dover International Speedway for the seventh round of the 2016 ASRS Camping World Truck Series.  Three drivers failed to qualify; Edward Eastley, last week’s winner Zac Bozanich and Jaden Rosard, who planned to make his series debut.


The field of 32 took the green flag, with Jordan Harnish leading the way from the pole position and Zack Calloway on the outside of the front row.  Harnish would take the early lead.  Two early cautions, one on lap four for Eric Bannenberg’s #44 spun around on the front stretch and another on lap 15 for Joe Johnson slowed the early progress, but a nearly 20 lap run got the field running as some driver charged through the field while others dropped in the running order.  Todd Kirkwood’s #38 brought out the caution on lap 37 and brought the field to pit road.


Harnish positioned himself as the dominate driver in the first half, but a botched pit stop dropped the #48 truck and opened the door for Jared Mogard and Travis McQuistion to take turns leading the race.  Champioship points leader Robby Baskins quietly remained in the top five for the majority of the race and positioned his #46 Chevrolet to contend for the win.


The final caution flew on lap 77 when Jamie Vaughn was involved in an incident, the caution allowed Joe Johnson to take the lead under yellow before pitting and turning the lead over to the damaged truck of Jim Foose.  Foose would lead just one lap, bringing the field to the final restart.  Mogard jumped to the lead as Baskins and Foose touched slowing both drivers.


Mogard was able to pull away to take his first ASRS win, Alex Bates making his first start of 2016 came home second followed by Jason Stewart in his ASRS debut third, Harnish ended up fourth with Michael Atkins, Jr. completing the top five.


The Camping World Truck Series heads to Charlotte Motor Speedway next week as the series sees the third consecutive week of competition after getting off to a slow start.  Robby Baskins leads the championship standings by 13 points over Jim Foose.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Related Posts

Related Posts

Upcoming Races

  • Rockingham 100


  • Five Flags 125


Current Standings

Tweedcast Digital Creations Truck Series Logo
Tweedcast Digital Creations Logo