LIVE!!! SMC Trucks: Red Rock Sim Design 125 from Iowa

Published On: June 10th, 2019

2019-05-28 22-56-30_0

After a week off the Sam Maxwell Customs Truck Series heads to the always exciting 7/8 mile Iowa Speedway.  The summer stretch takes the Sam Maxwell Customs Truck Series all the way into the Playoffs and to a wide variety of tracks.  Along with the tough schedule ahead, the Triple Threat Challenge kicks off at Iowa, an added incentive to win in the next three events.  With a commanding lead, Jared Mogard holds the top spot in the championship hunt but challengers Evan Black, Devin Serra, Mitch Brown and Will Warstler all have picked up wins this season.  Not to mention the hot battle for the final Playoff spot with just three points making the difference between competing for the championship and racing for 13th place in the points standings.  Watch the Red Rocks Sim Design 125 from Iowa Speedway beginning at 9PM Eastern Tuesday, June 11 on 3 Wide TV, the official broadcast partner of ASRS.

What to watch for:

iRacing implemented the Illmor engine package, meaning lower RPM limiters but drivers say the power remains the same, see if the different shift points and slightly different throttle response favors some drivers more than others.

Iowa’s 7/8 mile progressively banked tri-oval offers multiple grooves but in typical Iowa fashion the lane migrates to the top late in a tire run.  Watch for slidejobs and slip sliding away down low.

Iowa has produced different winners each time the series has raced there since 2015.  Jared Mogard is the only driver entered with a prior Iowa victory.

Rivals Jim Foose and Ty Hester return to action after striking out of the Premier Series prior to Rockingham.  Foose remains in a Playoff transfer spot while Hester has his work cut out for him to make the Playoffs.

There’s some money on the line tonight with the Triple Threat Challenge paying the winners of Iowa, Gateway and Chicagoland $25 each and a bonus $25 if one driver sweeps all three races.  Of the eligible drivers Mogard is the only one to win at any of the three tracks (2017 at Iowa).

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Related Posts

Related Posts

Upcoming Races

  • Richmond 125


  • Michigan 150


Current Standings

Tweedcast Digital Creations Truck Series Logo
Tweedcast Digital Creations Logo